free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-06-05 - What the hell:

HP is doing this webcast series about "Change Arists". Its basically a series of interviews with the CEO and CIO of major companies. They run commericals on CNN International, and the CEO/CIOs sit around saying what they think makes a "true change artist."

Is it just me or does this term sound really gimmicky and buzzword-feuled? I think if you're a good CEO or CIO you make good business decisions, and also a little lucky. You're (probably) a highly educated person who makes good decisions and is also a little cut-throat in the field.

"Change Artist" as a term is so rediculous, I laugh whenever I see the commericals. They're so convolouted and faux-trendy. To me, whenever I think of the term "Change Artist" I think of some weirdo performance artist who changes clothes in public. I don't know why. Either way, its a flakey term to apply to the business world. Just click on "view trailer" to see what I mean.

----------------

OH, SUMMER

The weather is warming up, which means the windows are open all around the city. In Korea, where apartments are especially densely-packed, I'm hearing a lot of neighbour sounds that I kind of forgot about from last August, when I arrived. Here are some new ones, in addition to numbers 1 and 2 of my previous list.

1) The Screechy Kid: this kid, whom I have never seen, lives in the building next to me. I can't tell if its a boy or a girl, because it's so young it has that oh-so-high voice that little kids have. Anyway, this kid throws multiple tantrums a day. Screechy, high piched, whiney tantrums. There is no way to accurately describe it. I wish you could hear it: this kids voice can shatter glass. It is also alarming, because this little kid is already screaming at its mother and mouthing off. Coupled with a voice that can make your ears bleed, I can only assume the child is part demon.

2) Squeaky Shoes Kid: the kid who lives above me is a toddler. It has little shoes that have little squeakers in the heel, so that when the kid walks, each step it takes is a loud squeak. At first you might think, "Oh, how cute!" But it is not cute when the child the better part of the day running around outside my window, and up and down the stairs, in said shoes. So yeah.

3) Old Yeller: Unlike the dog, this Old Yeller is an elderly Korean woman who screams at people. I have no idea where she lives, but I hear her screaming a lot. She is quite the screamer, so you better not do anything to piss her off.

--------------

PICTURE OF THE DAY

This one is big, so I'm just gonna link it. To resize it is to lessen its awesomeness. I can only assume it was taken in Japan, as it is the most liberal of the Asian countries.



old | new