free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-06-13 - Mostly soccer:

Right now I'm watching the World Cup game between South Korea and Togo. It's a hugely hyped game here, and SK's first game in the World Cup. So far, both teams aren't playing very well, and there are a lot of interruptions, so the game isn't flowing very well, either.

I have mixed feelings about who I want to win. I'd like Togo to win because it's their first time in the World Cup, and it would be really exciting to see them do reasonably well. Also, many Koreans are racist against black people, and have a really negative attitude towards Africa in general. So I passive-agressively want black people to kick racist butt.

But, I'd also like Korea to do well, because Koreans get really wrapped up in everything, and it's interesting to watch them party and be happy. And, since Canada has never been involved (and I doubt we ever will make it as far as the Cup), it's interesting to be in a country that is participating, to see home-grown excitement and anticipation in the world's most popular sport.

Although in Germany, the stadium is so packed with Koreans, they might as well be playing in Seoul. The bleachers are packed with people wearing red and white, the team colours, and the crowd is only peppered with the green and yellow of Togolese. So I'm sure Togo is feeling intimidated, at least in terms of crowd presence.

Anyway, enough about that.

--------------

These past few weeks I've had a lot of stuff to do at work. Being fairly busy, I've been coming home rather tired, so I've been neglecting to do things like clean properly, cook dinner, and the like. My apartment is more cluttered than dirty, if that makes any sense.

HOLY CRAP TOGO JUST SCORED

Because it's such a big deal, my street is full of house parties to watch the game. I could hear them chattering and carrying on since about 7 or 8 (the game started at 10). But now the streets are dead quiet. Intersting.

Okay, so anyway. My house is cluttered and I'm eating poorly. But I haven't been very hungry, either: It's been really hot and humid lately, which and I'm never as hungry in extreme heat. It must be the Canadian factor: in winter I tend to have a much larger appetite - fattening up to endure, I suppose - and in summer I eat less, presumably to burn off the winter chub. It's just a theory. Perhaps all people experience this - or at least people in climates with more significant seasonal differences.

---------------

In closing, soccer players have really great legs. Except for Crouch. What the hell is up with him?

He looks like Kate Moss. Eat a sandwich, Peter!



old | new