free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2007-09-21 - Yes, I am fine:

It's been over a month! Sorry about that. To summarize: moving overseas is a pain in the ass. The good news that everyone (kitty included) survived the move, no luggage was lost or damaged, and since I upgraded myself to first class at the last minute, the 14+ hour flight was - dare I say - enjoyable!

I gotta say, if you're going to do a long-haul flight like that, it is worth it to shell out. Each first-class passenger gets on-demand entertainment. Basically, I played Legend of Zelda and drank from the open bar and ate three-course meals between naps. And the leg room? Fugeddaboudit!

So, now I am mostly settled-in to my new place. I just need to finalize some things in my room. Otherwise, the main rooms are all set up and accounted for. Today I am going to buy picture frames because dammit, I am a grown-up!

I have three job interviews next week so far, and more are expected. I need to get a couple more professional looking clothing items, some spiffy yet sensible shoes, and some form of handbag this weekend, and then I am all set!

I don't really have anything exciting to tell you about. I'll skip the mundane details of family visits and furniture shopping/assembly.

I did have a fun visit from friend/former roommate Kyle, which involved a Sunday night quest for a bar that was actually open, but it was successful and we ended up having a pretty fun time getting drunk together for the first time in years. Then we stumbled back to my place and he slept on my couch, where the kitty woke him up a number of times for pre-dawn affection. Never one to let a pussy feel neglected, he certainly obliged.

Did you know that moving generates a lot of waste? Also, a lot of cardboard? Current roommate Joe and I hauled mountains of said cardboard to the curb on the designated recycling-collection date. But! The city workers refused to collect it, despite taking all of our other recyclables. So, we are refusing to bring it back into our house, since we enjoy having our hallway back. And because we have done everything required of us by the city regarding the recycling, so there is no reason why the city workers shouldn't take it since it is their job. So if you want to know where I live, drive around the Jewish neighbourhood. Our house is the one with mountains of neatly folded boxes out front. Joy!



old | new