free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2007-07-06 - Oh what providence:

I managed to get my hands on season three of House, and, needless to say, I've been plowing through it like mad. How much do I love this show? Oh so, so very much. It's only a matter of time before there are Hugh Laurie cameos in my dreams. Again. Who can blame me? He is so awesome. He can play a guy like Dr. House, the giant ass. Then he can turn around and be SUPER HAPPY FUN AND PERFECT Stuart Little's dad. Hooray for versatility!

Something else that I've been doing quasi-obsessively these days is listening to The Decemberists, almost exclusively, in fact. They have some pretty awesome lyrics, and they know a lot of adjectives! Nerdy stuff like that gets me hooked, every time.

Last night I went to my fav bar's Trivia night, and it went pretty well. Well in that I had a good time, that is. We lost miserably, but it was nice to be social, after being MIA for almost two weeks. But since I sent in my final installment in the novel-writing mentor program thing I've been doing, and only about 25 pages left to go in the whole entire thing, I figured I deserved to rejoin the land of the living. I am going out Saturday night, too! So there!

On the 20-25 of July, I am going to Beijing. That is my other new thing to tell you. I am pretty excited. Do you want some Maoist propaganda? I can totally hook you up with the Commie stuff.

Last thing: far be it from me to turn this into an OMG-MY-CAT blog thingy, but I just wanted to say one thing. Oven Mitt likes to sleep in my bed when I am in it. That is fine, except she must be touching me in some way. So I sometimes roll on her and wake up with an angry, meowing lump beneath me. And sure it's cute and everything, but not so much when it is 30C at night and like 98% humidity with no air conditioner. It's like going to bed with a hot water bottle wrapped wool sweater in your lap, or on your belly, or in the small of your back, or in the corner behind your knees. Not to mention the joys of cat hair stuck to sweaty skin, oh my god.

So yeah, it is hot in Korea these days, and I've been reading it's even hotter in Beijing, but only slightly. So I figure if I'm going to be sweating my butt of in Asia, I can do it just as easily in China looking at Chairman Mao's Stalin-esque, perserved corpse on public display, as I can in my own apartment covered in cat hair.



old | new