free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2007-07-17 - Language is a complimentary moist lemon-scented cleansing square:

So, season 3 of House has been watched, and OMG I can't wait until season 4 starts! In my spare time I have been re-watching season 1, and downloading some of Mr. Laurie's stuff from the UK. I managed to find all of Black Adder, but caved (not really) and pre-ordered the DVD box set for a Bit of Fry and Laurie, which is hard to track down online for some reason. It's on pre-order, and should be sent to my parents' house just in time for my little visit in August. I'm a nerd.

-----

One thing I've found interesting is the Speech Accent Archive, which has people from all over the world reading the same paragraph, in English. Linguistics is fascinating, and I realize you can do a micro-study of virtually every country's varying dialects, but this gives a really cool perspective of the overall big picture. Linguistics! Crazy!

Here is a Fry and Laurie skit about Language:

Did you like that? Didjya?

-----

Other things new? My last day of work is tomorrow, and that is a bit exciting. I do have to stick around for the next month, though, and wrap-up everything. But that's easy enough! I am torn about leaving though; on one hand, I know now that I do not want to teach, and I have gotten everything out of my job that I could possibly get. I have, however, made a lot of excellent friends out here, and I'll be sad to leave. I have lived here for two years, and it has certainly grown on me. I will miss a lot of things about living in Korea, and living overseas in general. That part has me feeling down, even though I feel I am ready to leave and return to Canada... it was still a tough decision to make, in some ways.

I am excited about going to Canada again, though. Communication, being one of the main reasons. Getting my novel published, seeing friends and family again, not having to hunt down specialty food items, and being able to enjoy more social anonymity when going out in public. I can find a job I'll actually enjoy and be able to interact with co-workers much better. I'm debating going back to school in the next year or so, too, so that is another factor. Still, while I know it's the best decision for me, I still feel a bit depressed about leaving this place, after having settled in so well. And I know that, should I return in a few years (a possibility I'd still not entirely rule out) things will have changed, and it'll be impossible to pick up exactly where I left off. And that's sad, too.

I can go around in circles like this all day, weighing the pros and cons of both leaving or staying... I know I am making the right choice, as i said, but i can't help but feel crappy about it. And, because I'm distracted, I just can't seem to get geared-up for going to Beijing. Instead, I feel very lackluster about the whole trip. I'll probably get more keen on it once I actually arrive, but there's no initial excitement, knowing that it's probably the last trip I'll be able to take for the next few years, at least. So that's what's up with me these days: ennui and TV shows. How exciting.



old | new