free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-12-10 - Very Punny:

I think I mentioned here (or perhaps on the mailing list) that Koreans call Swiss Army knives "McGyver Knives" because they love to watch McGyver re-runs. And McGyver uses his trusty knife quite a bit!

So McGyver is on a lot. But today? I am watching AirWolf! I'm not sure what is funnier: the show or the introductory theme song. And yet, I can't stop watching it!

One thing that makes me laugh about 70s/80s TV shows is that the plots are unnecissarily elaborate and crazy. There are these "plot twists" that don't really flow properly, and they have a habit of introducing key characters towards the end of the show. And, like most TV shows, you wonder how these people can afford to live their lifestyles while hardly doing any actual work.

-------

PHOTOGRAPHER

Do you know about Pieter Hugo? He's a photographer from South Africa. He did a series on "The Hyena People".

One thing that I learned about hyenas (thanks Wiki!) is that they are really, really smart. They're notoriously difficult to train for movies, for example, because they get bored of performing the same trick repeatedly, and sometimes refuse to cooperate. They also have one of the strongest jaws in the animal kingdom, which is a good reason to give hyenas their space.

So it kind of freaks me out that these people are keeping hyenas as pets. Wild animals in captivity are unpredictable as it is, never mind an animal who gets bored easily and can kill you in an instant.

---------

AQUARIUM

Last weekend I went to Seoul and I went to an aquarium. I like aquariums. I took some pictures, so I'll put them up soon in the photolog. Just a heads-up. It was a pretty cool aquarium.

I also did Christmas shopping in Seoul. And I bought some books for myself. I plow through books like you wouldn't believe.

-------

WOW

So the nicknames and codenames for things in Airwolf are so, so weird. And corny. Mostly corny. And one character in this episode is British for some reason, but her accent is bad and keeps fading in and out. Must be from Fakefordshire!

Okay, kinda lame. But I've been into the puns lately. Shameful, really.



old | new