free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-11-15 - Books mostly:

I finally updated my photolog, if you are interested in that sort of thing.Now you can see my pictures from Hong Kong!

I read James Frey's A Million Little Pieces. I realize that there is a lot of controversy about the veracity of certain events and details in the book. Which, subsequently, has brought into play a lot of discussion about the reliability of memory. Newer additions of Frey's book include a note from the author and the publisher which discuss some of the things Frey embellished. Granted, memory is also a falliable source, especially when one is subject to time and substance abuse.

That being said, A Million Little Pieces is a really great book. You do not have to believe any or all of it. It is simply a story. And it is a very good story. I enjoyed the book a lot, and it doesn't matter to me if it is true or not because the book itself was excellent. I reccomend it! It is well-written and it is also a very gripping and compelling story. Veracity aside, it is worth a read. At the very least, you should read it before you cast ultimate judgement upon either its content or the author.

What else is keeping me busy? Well, Kiwi! is pretty awsome. Also, this makes me laugh a lot. Also, I play Risk! on Saturdays these days. After reading War and Peace the game takes on a whole new kind of exciting element for me. I cannot possibly get bored of Risk!

Also, I have a couple of things over in the latest edition of ausgang that I think I forgot to mention.

This entry is pretty link-oriented. I'm not sure if you like that or not.

Right now I am reading The Poisonwood Bible and it is pretty awesome. Certain characters frustrate me to the point of anger, which is good, because it means that Kingsolver is doing her job as a good writer. It is well written and you also get to learn about the Congo in the 1960s so it is also a bit educational. Don't worry, it is not religeous. There are religious characters, but Christianity on the whole is handled with a lot of irony and dark elements, which I think is apt. Also, it deals with colonialism and stuff, while mantaining very human characters on both sides of the spectrum. Maybe you would like that book, too.



old | new