free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-09-13 - Art and Politics, mostly:

I am pretty excited about Mark Jenkins after reading this article. He makes me get really enthused about art. I tried to do a lesson on public art recently: showing examples of scupltures and murals and getting students to talk about what they think. Except they weren't interested at all, and it turned out to be a really frustrating lesson that I spent a lot of time planning, trying to find art that was going to be interesting and stimulating for middle school students. The only piece anyone actually liked was the Statue of Liberty, and that unexpected. I wish more young people were excited about art. Art is awesome! It makes you think! Don't you care about your surroundings? Don't you have feelings and thoughts and opinions?

-----

SPEAKING OF WHICH...

You may want to check out Keith Olbermann's comments on the 5th anniversary of September 11th. It is pretty damn awesome. I wish that people - politicians especailly - would just shut up and pratice what they preach. It would be nice if anyone followed through with thier ideas and promises, these days. No wonder so many young people aren't voting: politicians are dry, stale, and largely inactive upon their own policies. It would be nice if even just once, we could see someone with any political clout admit that they were wrong about something. I know its hard to do - it's hard for most people to admit their wrong - but it certainly makes you look like the humble, down-home, aw-shucks sort of character you try and portray yourself as being, Mr. Bush.

----

TRAVEL TIME AGAIN

From October 3-8 I will be hopping over to Hong Kong. I am pretty excited about that. I'm not really sure what to expect, but I'm pretty sure that it will be interesting! Armed with a Lonely Planet city guide and a few printoffs from the Hong Kong Tourism Bureau, I will be unstoppable. Rawr!



old | new