free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-06-17 - I bet you have never seen a chicken on a cat before:

Well, now you have.

-------------

FREAK MAGNET BRIGADE

Let me tell you a little story. A little over a month ago, one of my schools had two student teachers, doing a practicum there. One was a science teacher (the tall one) and I forget what the other guy taught, but he was short.

Practicums last a month. These guys, although around my age, never really said anything to me or really aknowledged me. Not that I expected anything more: most people are shy about speaking English to a person who speaks English as their fisrt language. Koreans especially, are afraid of losing face, so they usually don't say anything. And since I was at this school only once a week, it was pretty uneventful.

Then, on their last week, and thus their last time seeing me, they came into my "office" all polite and the tall one spoke pretty decent English, as it turns out. They hung around and we chit-chatted. It became apparent early on that the tall one was the same age as me, and the short one, a few years older and married, was basically there to make the tall one slightly more comfortable while he tried to chat me up and get my phone number. It was painfully awkward, because Koreans tend to chat up each other the way Mickey Mouse chats up Minnie, with a lot of nervous giggling, blushing, and grinning awkwardly. Which is a far cry from what I am personally used to, ha ha.

Anyway, I gave him my number, finally, out of pity, expecting him to never call. And it seemed like that was the case, as about a month passed and I sort of forgot about him.

Then, two nights ago, at about 11:00, he called. I'd just fallen asleep, and I'm amazed that I managed to get up and answer the phone and speak coherently. He introduced himself, and because I was a) sleepy and b) he has the same last name as one of my colleagues, I thought he was someone else. So I did the Super Nice bit. And then I realized later that it was the blush-n-giggle machine. Asking me out. On a date.

So, I made some excuses, and said I had plans, and then went back to bed. This is the second Korean man I've blown off since I've been here.

It's not that I'm not attracted to Koreans - I don't even think about race most of the time. I've thought many Koreans are cute, and I've thought some are ugly. It is kind of the same across the board for me, some people are attractive, some are not. That's life.

Anyway. That's not really my point. My point is, the only people who seem to be attracted to me, in this case and in all past cases save for 1, have been really socially awkward people. A few have had "Issues." A few have been abrasive. A few have been painfully dorky and awkard and kind of annoying. So, concequently, I've turned down a lot of people. I am the ice queen, i suppose. But it's not for lack of interest in dating, it's for lack of interest in these particular people.

On the flipside, the people that I'm attracted to have no interest at all in me, it seems. I'm not sure what is going on with that. Maybe the people I'm interested are wondering why they are Freak Magnets, too? Who knows. Anyway, I just wanted to get that off my chest.

----------------

FINGERS CROSSED

I applied for this college correspondence program, which enables a person to write a novel by corresponding with an established author. It will start in January. I'm kind of stoked, because it could give me the push and the confidence to finish my novel and polish it up for publication. The program is a year, so by the following summer, I'll be back in Canada, peddling my novel, hopefully. That is the plan, anyway. Wish me luck!

--------------

MUSIC

So, I've heard of a few interesting bands lately. They're not new, just new to me. Pony Up! Is a cool chick rock band that has some pretty awesome lyrics and tunes. And I just realized that they are from Montreal, which is a remarkable coincidence, because I am too, tee hee.

The second band is The Aquabats. They have some good tunes, including a parody of the Aqua song, "Barbie Girl", which they titled "Ugly Girl". It's good stuff.

Anyway, that's all that's up with me at the moment.



old | new