free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-04-12 - Gore, pix, and dreams:

This morning I was sitting in my office, playing this insane game, when I heard this weird crash and shatter sound. I figured it was nothing, and then I heard a lot of kids running around yelling "teacher!!! TEACHER!!!" and a bunch of other stuff in Korean. There really was a lot of running around, so I figured I go check it out, since I can hardly eavesdrop in this country.

So as I started walking down the hall to the direction of the commotion, I started seeing that a lot of teachers are running around, too, at this point.

Then I saw a cluster of slow-moving students moving towards me. They were obviously doing something, but they're all close together and I couldn't really see.

By the time I got close enough, another teacher was already there, authoritavely tying a tourniket around a student's arm. It turned out that the kid either broke something or fell on something made of glass, and did a number on his forearm. There was a good 6-inch L shaped gash down his arm, that was at least 1/4 inch deep, which is a lot if you are a skinny 12 year old asian boy under 5 feet tall.

To his credit, the boy seemed pretty calm about it. He stood frowning seriously at his arm, while the teacher tied the tourniket, and other students stood around him. Another boy was duitifully holding the wounded arm out, trying to hold the wound closed at corner of the L - the cut was deep enough to cause a large flap of skin there.

Blood was everywhere: streaming down the student's arm, over the hands of the boy who was trying to keep the wound together, and on a few teachers' hands who had helped out. Also, there were huge drops of blood all down the hallway where the boy had walked.

Tourniket tied, the boy was advised to hold his arm above his head while another teacher brought his car around to take him to the hospital. The boy got in the car and started looking a little dazed - probably due to blood loss. I tapped on the glass and mimed holding my arm up in the air, and the boy complied with the advice. Then the car zipped off to the hospital.

Overall I was really surprised with how the kids handled everything. They all seemed to have a good general idea of first aid. They handeled it a lot better than I would have at that age! When I was in third grade I was playing with some kids at school, and a boy fell and cracked his head open. Myself and the other kids were afraid we'd get in trouble so we ran away to the edge of the playground. Then, once we were sure the kid had been seen-to by now, we walked back to the school crying our heads off, we felt so guilty. Retarded, I know.

Anyway, as it turns out, the boy was sent to another hospital in the city (i teach in country schools) because they couldn't treat him at the little country hospital.

Anyway, that's my adventure for the week. Hey, its not every day you get to see the meaty insides of a boy's arm!

-------------------

CRAZY PICTURES


I don't even know how this would happen, never mind why. It looks like the trailer park got some new threads at the theatre guild's clearance sale.


Another dog sitting on a cat. When I dog sits on a cat, I cannot help but laugh. The best part is that this cat actually looks like its enjoying the snuggles.

--------------

WEIRD DREAMS

I've mentioned my weird, celebrity cameo dreams before. I recently had this dream where Elijah Wood showed up for some reason. Why???

It would make sense if I dreamed about a celebrity I was actually kind of obsessed with. But ol Elijah is hardly a blip on my radar; i'm really neutral about him, even though I've been known to make fun of him at times. So, I just thought I'd mention that.



old | new