free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-03-19 - Pigs and robots:

Yesterday some friends and I were walking around downtown, and we ran into another two friends who were trying to find this place. They told us about this alleged coffee shop where you can pet dogs and cats. there are apparently a lot of dogs and cats.

No one had heard of such a place, but we started talking about other stuff and suddenly I noticed a lot of dogs and cats in a window above a bakery. So, like a moron I pointed and shrieked: "IS THAT IT RIGHT THERE WITH THE PUPPIES AND KITTIES IN THE WINDOW??!!!"

Turns out that yes, that was indeed the puppy and kitty coffee shop. So we went and checked it out. There were SO. MANY. PUPPIES. AND KITTIES. TO PET. There was even one of those little pet pigs. I've never seen a pet pig except on TV so I was pretty excited about that.

So anyway, after doing the puppy and kitty rounds, I noticed the pig again. It was really cute - it oinked jovially, and when it walked around, its little piggy tail wagged. So I decied to see if pigs like to be petted. I started out kind of scratching around its ears and its neck like I would a dog. OH MY GOD. This pig, it was so happy about that. Its legs started to give out. Like, its back legs started sliding out behind it with joy. Then it fell down on its front knees, and lay on its belly. Then it lay on its side. Then it started falling asleep in a totally melted pig coma of joy. I kept petting and petting it, and everyone in the store started watching, including the owners, because they didn't seem to realize that their pig could lapse into such uphoria. It could have gone on forever, I was totally cracking up and amazed. The pig finally came to when someone slid a chair really squeakily across the tile and it surprised the pig and it opened its eyes. When I stopped petting it, the pig lay there on the floor a moment, blinked, and then hopped up on its feet again. Then it FOLLOWED ME AROUND. It was so funny! and cute!

Like I said, I've never seen a pet pig before, and I kind of thought that they were kind of an eccentric pet to have. But also, I didn't really know much about them, either. Anyway, after meeting this little pig, I realized that they are really friendly, very quiet, and really clean - the place smelled more like doggie-ness than anything (it wasn't dirty, and didn't smell like dog waste, but like a lot of dogs in one room, which there were). The pig was little, cute, and really affectionate. I didn't realize how social they actually could be. And I knew that pigs were quite smart, but I never really 'experienced' a pig before.

Anyway, long story short: right now I am totally considering getting a pet pig when I grow up and settle down. Which raises a lot of meat-consumption issues, which I don't really want to get into right now. Ahem.

----------------

ROBOTS OH MY GOD
My friend Cam sent me this thing about robots, and it is totally awesome. I don't really agree with the ranking (I would have ranked them differently) but it is still totally cool, because it allows me to see robots. ROBOTS.

---------------

CRAZY PICTURE TIME


My favorite letter of the alphabet is the oval.


Speaking of robots....


And speaking of pigs...


tee-hee!



old | new