free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-10-01 - good morning, korea!:

So it is Saturday moring here in Korea. In a few hours, I'll be packing off to Seoul with a bunch of people. It is a long weekend, so we can stay until Monday. Yay! I will take lots of pictures, and tell you about it all!

Okay, I have some linkies for you.

Harrisonburg City Schools Lunch Choices are available online. If this makes you want to eat the food there, you should probably kill yourself. Click on the link to find out what they suggest you do with these pictures.

Origin of Phrases gives you some idea as to the origin of weird expressions we have in English. Kind of handy!

An interesting article on the status of education in South Korea.

Beaver and Steve is a great little comic that cheers me up. Some great adventures are had by a beaver and an iguana(?) who are friends and roommmates.

Punks and Nerds is another comic I recently started to enjoy. It is about punky gamer dorks, which is pretty much what I am. You should check it out, plus the art is real good.

What else is up with me? Well, I went to a birthday party last night, and had a great time at this party until the Korean neighbours started getting really pissed off because we were loud. So some people packed it in for the night and some others went out to another bar. But since it was like 1:00am and I am leaving soon on a trip that I'd like to party on, I packed it in for the night. So, I've got a decent night's sleep under my belt, and am ready to be crazy in Seoul. Yay!

Oh, one more thing: some people in Canada have been asking me what the heck kimchi is. Here is a comprehensive explanation. Kimchi can be made out of many things, and is served as a side dish at EVERY MEAL. If you are going to eat Korean food, you will get rice and kimchi, guaranteed. If you tell a Korean you like kimchi (which I have, and I do honestly like it) they will give you homemade kimchi, which is good. I have three kinds of kimchi right now in my fridge: two bags of the standard cabbage kimchi (from two different people), a container of green onion kimchi, and a big bag of radish kimchi. Radishes here, I should point out, are really big and very mild tasting, and yellowish in colour. I like them a lot better than north american radishes.

And that's my story.



old | new