free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-09-21 - Special request recieved:

I think that today I am having my first gushy, "Oh I miss Canada" moment. Tonight I was watching a documentary on ice and snow, and as the climate in my neck of Korea is mild, I couldn't help thinking, "Gee, I'll miss snow this winter!" Canadians bitch a lot about the snow, but many of those same Canadians wouldn't want to live anywhere else when asked to choose. I'm one of those Canadians that really enjoys the snow, and plans on settling down there, so seeing the snow and ice is pretty sentimental to me. They showed footage of the Ice Hotel in Quebec City and the freakin Ice Storm of 1998. Between seeing the Ice Hotel and knowing I'll have to postpone my visit for another year, and seeing footage of areas in Montreal that I knew all too well, I was feeling kind of mushy. Not crying, more sighing and thinking, "Well, I'll see you again soon enough, snowy Montreal!"

Then, while I was watching this documentary, feeling a little liquidy in the centre, the doorbell rang. I answer it to find my neighbour standing there with my mail! In Korea, folks are really friendly, and even if your neighbour across the hall doesn't speak a word of English, he will collect your mail and hand it to you, just because he was on his way up and saw that the mail had come.

But, nevermind the friendlyness of Mr. Across the Hall: He was holding not only a package I'd been expecting, but a handwritten letter from a Linz! Linz' letter was just what I needed to feel all special and stuff. And then I opened the package: A 1.1kg of TIM HORTON'S COFFEE FOR GAWD SAKES!

Okay, so I knew that Kris was going to be sending me coffee. I sent her an email a little under two weeks ago that simply said:

SEND ME A CAN OF TIM HORTONS COFFEE. I WILL MARRY YOU.

So she sent me a the biggest can she could by and priority-posted it for the love of god. And, she did it pretty much within a day that i emailed. But, I admit that I wasn't expecting the biggest can. And, unwrapping the cylindrical package in my living room, I felt like that guy in the Tim Horton's commercial who goes away to Scotland for University, and gets Tim's coffee sent to him and then he feels like he's home and stuff. When I saw that commercial with Kris, she got all teary-eyed, and I remember laughing at her for being all sappy. Kris cries at a lot of mushy commercials; she is a marketer's dream. But that aside, I did laugh at her, and she probably told me to shut up, and she may have even punched or backhanded me in the arm.

But now, unwrapping her package in SOUTH FUCKING KOREA and pretty much KISSING AND HUGGING A COFFEE CAN, I sort of understood the commerical, you might say. So Kris, sorry I laughed at you that time. But, I still am not apologizing for laughing at you for crying at the Tim's Christmastime commercial; that's just silly.



old | new