free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-06-18 - Family flaw:

How come "Adult Communities" are always a bunch of mobile homes parked in formation beside a highway in the middle of nowhere? C'mon, you know what I'm talking about. What is the story with these mobile, hermit collectives?

Sometimes a moth or something flies into the apartment and then, in an effort to get closer to the light, flies into the ceiling repeatedly. Every time this happens, I momentarily think that there is a squirrel in the attic (I am on the top floor of a large, old house retro-fitted for apartments). The squirrel-in-the-attic is highly possible because 1) we have cheap suspended ceiling tiles and 2) squirrels have a knack for finding ways into places they shouldn't be. Where I used to work, squirrels would somehow find their way repeatedly into the attic, by means still unknown to the maitenence crew, and eventually the squirrels would die in there if nobody could catch them and flush them down into a room and out a door. One Monday, a co-worker unlocked her office to find a dead squirrel on her desk after falling through one of the ceiling tiles. Anyway, the point I am trying to make is that when it is late and there is a white moth throwing itself repeatedly into a white ceiling, it seems like there is a creature in the attic for a while, and it is kind of uncool.

I'm back from visiting my parents, and it went OK. I took some pictures, but I haven't gone through them yet, so you'll have to wait. Mostly there are just pictures of the dogs, and some of my mom's graduation (she recently got a Master's degree).

It is 10:00 on a Saturday night and usually I would be going out or doing something, but I feel too tired after a week with the parents, and riding Greyhounds, and hauling luggage, and listening to Parental Advice. So I might be really lame and go to bed earlier than usual.

Which sort of reminds me: the other night I asked my sister to Google who was going to be on Conan O'Brien later on. She Googled away, and then said that the guest would be Hillary Duff (Barf). So I was like, screw that! And later on that evening (but before Conan) an ad came on TV saying that the guests for Conan would be someone totally different. PLEASE HELP ME: MY SISTER CANNOT GOOGLE, AND GOOGLING IS EASY. WHERE THE HELL DID SHE GET HILLARY DUFF I MEAN COME ON!



old | new