free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-06-07 - Crisis of personal politics:

Well, today, I did the unthinkable: I shaved my body hair, for the first time in nearly two years. I feel terrible.

Let me explain: I am going to a job interview tomorrow, for a teaching position in South Korea. Asian women shave their legs/pitts. Also, Asian women generally have less body hair than the average North American woman.

I just don't want to show up for my job interview looking like a feminist (which I am) who will cause trouble overseas because of conflicting political views (which I won't). Tomorrow is going to be hot, and the only dress pants I have right now are kapris, so there's the leg thing.

When I go to Asia, I want to explore, see, and try as many things as possible. I want it to be a discovery-based time. I do not want to confront the politics of my host country (I will confront the politics of my home one, when I am at home). It's kind of a case of "When in Rome..." I'm already a tall, white, chubby, large-breasted woman leaning towards the butch side of tomboy, I want to be any more obvious than I already will be.

But still, I feel crappy for getting rid of a symbol of my beliefs/identity. It doesn't change anything about my beliefs and views, but I feel like a conformist all the same, at least while still in Canada.

So, that's that. I'll get over it; I am adaptable. But for now, please excuse me if I am a bit blue.



old | new