free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2007-03-11 - Holy Subconsciousness, Batman!:

The other night, I had a dream about Stephen Colbert. In it, he and I were having a secret affair. He is married, you see. So we could only make out in his dressing room after his TV show. He never took his suit off, but he was a good cuddler. Needless to say, I woke up thinking, "Wow, that was weird." Perhaps the Colbert Report shouldn't be the last thing I see before going to bed.

--------

DAVID SUZUKI

Did you know that David Suzuki is 71 years old? Here is a picture that was taken of him roughly a year ago:

Damn, David! You is a fine senior citizen!

-------

GOD

Just thought I'd share.

-------

THE NOVEL

The novel is going extremely well. I am hoping to hit the 100-page mark today. All told, it should be between 250-300 pages. I have more than 100 pages of ideas written down, but they're disjointed and unconnected ideas. However, I do aim to have 100 pages of quality material by the end of today. I am on a roll this weekend!

--------

FORUMS

So, my novel-writing program has web forums so that fellow writers can talk about writing and other topics, depending on the discussion "rooms". Anyhow, one woman posted the question "What do writers wear?" Here is what she wrote:


Can anyone help me settle an argument with my husband? Every once in a while, he complains about the fact that I write in old loose cotton dresses and nightshirts, and big baggy sweaters. I've told him that's the price he has to pay if he wants to see me become a famous writer one day. My position is that a neat appearance and makeup prevents the natural flow of creative juices; he thinks it would enhance it. So I'd like to do a little survey regarding what other writers wear when they write...

The majority of people who replied were the 30+ housewife set. There was one househusband who replied, claiming to wear a bathrobe and a cat in his lap.

Where to begin? There is no writer's uniform. Nor should there be. In fact, if you meet people from any profession set, you'll probably find that they have a wide range of dressing styles. But, truth be told, everyone has loungy, bumming around the house clothes. If you're going to be sitting at a computer in your home for a long period of time, you will most likely wear those bumming around clothes. Should you venture out of the house, you'd probably change into something a bit more presentable. I think that most people are this way. If one is going to work from home, regardless of profession, one is not going to wear business attire. Just a thought.

Now there is a new thread about "What do writers eat?" This bothers me, too, because, even more so than clothes, one's diet can vary immensely, depending on where you live, allergies, dietary restrictions, personal preferences, and the like. It seems really strange to me, to discuss this kind of thing as if writers do certain things one way, and rarely stray from that way.

Perhaps these subject threads shouldn't bother me as much as they do. But, it does bother me, because it relies heavily on historical stereotypes that never really existed on a large scale. It seems silly to apply these kinds of set behaviors to oneself, or to others you have never met in person.

Anyway. I will stop ranting about that now, and show you some more crazy pictures:

---------

This makes me giggle:

--------

Rabbit tongues? Funniest. Thing. Ever.

--------

WHAT IS HAPPENING? THE OCTOPUS SUN IS PLAYING THE FLUTE! THE SHEEP PEOPLE ARE BEING SNEAKY!

--------

THE END!



old | new