free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-05-17 - A little of everything:

KOREAN FOR BABIES
I've picked up a new handfull of Korean words this past week or so. And I owe it all to watching TV shows for babies. If you are in a foreign country, I recomend trying it out. Think about it, toddlers get taught all the essential words that most people use to get by. And there's no shortage of repetition and clear, slow speech to make sure you remember the words. So excellent.

---------------

KEY ADVENTURE
On Saturday I got locked out of my apartment for a few hours. I left my keys downtown, and by the time I realized it, the place had closed. It took me a while to get in touch with the person who had a copy of my key, so there was a lot of frustration, frantic phone calling, and cell phone pounding. I did have my cel on me, so that was helpful, but the battery died in the midst of my phone-tracking. Luckily, I made it to a service centre just as they closed, and they super-charged my battery for me, so I could resume frantic phoning. So that was my frustrating adventure.

On a less irritating adventure, Monday was teacher's day here in Korea. It's not an official holiday, but some schools choose to have it as a day off. My school did, but everyone forgot to tell me, so I went into work to find my school locked up. So I turned around and rode the bus back home. After wasting more than an hour in unecissary transit, I put my pajamas back on and played computer games for hours and hours. Later on that afternoon, I got in touch with the office I left my keys at, and got dressed long enough to go and pick them up, make a quick stop at the post office, and then the bank. After coming home, I returned to my pajamas and topped off the day with a Bailey's hot chocolate. Oh yes. Oh yes.

---------------

OH THE FOOD
As I've mentioned before, i do like most Korean foods. However, every so often, I get a craving for the stuff I ate back home, which is totally expected. Anyway, you can find most western foods around Korea, but a few things, although available, are not easily prepared in the asian kitchen.

Few kitchens in Korea are equipped with a full oven, as opposed to the typical North American kitchen. Usually, if there is an oven-type thing available, it is usually a small toaster-oven sized thing designed exclusively for baking fish.

My friend Mike has a full oven, which is most decent. We'd been trying for a while to track down some lasagna noodles, but without much luck. Then, in a package from my parents, I recieved, among other goodies, a box of lazagna noodles. that weekend, i packed it along with a few other ingredients to make a kick-ass lasagna at Mike's place. It was quite possibly the best lasagna anyone had ever eaten, if only because it is so exceedingly rare to get the homemade stuff in this country. It was definetly good times.

---------------

CRAZY PICTURE TIME


My money is on the eagle.


Rough.


That just about sums it up.


Wonder if anyone actually made an offer.



old | new