free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2006-03-08 - I don't know what to write here:

THE CRAZIES
I forgot to tell you a bit about Seoul. In Seoul, there are a lot of crazies on the subway and on the street. Fine, every city has crazies, you say, even Korean ones. That's true - but in most cases in Korea I can ignore, or am ignored by the crazies because I'm foreign and therefore by (accurate) assumption speak little to no Korean.

Except in Seoul. Where the crazies speak English. So this crazy guy on the subway was walking around, carrying a big cross on his shoulder, a la Jesus. The cross had various Christian-y slogans on it that I don't remember. The walked into the subway car going on in Korean about Jesus. Then he saw me. And started talking with excellent grammar. In English. About Jesus. To me.

And, like an idiot, I sort of fell into his trap. I talked to him a little bit, because I sort of forgot that in Seoul when people talk to you it is more than just "Hello, how are you? My name is BLAHBLAHBLAH, See you again! Nice to meet you!"

And while it was happening, I realized that it was totally stupid. And, like a moron, I told a jesus freak that no, I wasn't a Christian. Dumbest. Idea. Ever.

And a few people gave me sympathetic looks, realizing how this man was just not going to shut up despite my body language and curt remarks. In the end I got off the train (it was my stop) and sort of had to hurry away before he decided to follow me some more.

-------------------

THE FOOD
In the office, people are always bringing food in. This isn't a bad thing. Sometimes it's good. Sometimes it's weird. I'm not sure where it comes from, what occasion it may be for, or what have you, and I don't ask. If you put it in front of me, I will try it. But today people brought in a TON of strawberries. It was awesome. So I had a big bowl of em, and there are still strawberries everywhere, and the office smells great, and it's so rad. I wish you could smell it. It smells like July. I love greenhouses. Especially greenhouses that grow straweberries.

----------------

CLUMSY STUFF
I'm a spaz. We all know this. On a daily basis, and often more than once a day, I get my feet tangled up in the cables under my desk at work. Which always results in my nearly pulling my keyboard off of its under-the-desk tray thing. And it always makes a loud noise when this happens. Now that I'm in the main office, with all the other school's teachers, everyone can hear the joyous rattling and clattering of my keyboard being bashed around. Good stuff.

Also in the clumsy department - i dropped part of my dinner on the floor last night. I am a superstar. But I followed the 5-second rule, dusted it of, and ate it anyway. The floor's clean, I swear.

------------------

I finshed the Mimi Smartypants book. It was good. But in the back of the book there is this extra insert from Avon? WHat is with that? I don't own a single make-up/beauty item. The girliest i get is buying face wash and hand moisturiser. But the former is more to prevent acne, and the latter is to try and remedy my horribly flaky winter hands that crack and bleed. So its about keeping it together, mostly.

Anyway, this insert is about buying some other Avon-endorsed books that look a little like drug-store tacky stuff written by women who make me embrassed to be a woman, too. This is a bit creepy for me. I'm sure you can understand why.



old | new