free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-12-07 - What the hell is going on?:

My job is going really well, I have finally gotten myself Sorted Out and Understanding my students' levels of English and all that.

Let's see... today I was taking the bus to another school for a teacher workshop. This kid stood with me at the bus stop and she kept chatting away about stuff in Korean. Despite my best efforts to indicate that I didn't speak Korean all that well, she kept trying to engage me in conversation. Then she tried to invite herself over to my house and stuff. It was random, and kind of irritating. Anyway, it turned out that my workshop was cancelled, and so I got to go home. But the same kid was on that bus too, and she sat with me and asked for my phone number and stuff like that. Anyway, I was relieved when she got off at her own stop and not mine.

Another thing that is going on with me is that I have a leaky ceiling. Which doesn't make sense because I'm on the second floor of a three storey building. But it's been leaking since Monday and it's right over my bed so I have to sleep in the living room. I tried to tell someone in my building about it but I don't think that it worked, because it is still leaking. So tonight I'll have to call my co-teacher and help me get this shit all organized. This is the part where the language barrier really drives me crazy. Here is an example of the conversation I had with my landlord about it:

Me: [Korean word for leak!]
Her: [Korean word for leak?]
Me: [Korean word for yes!]
Her: [Huge paragraph of stuff in Korean that was spoken really fast and made no sense!!]
Me: Uh... OK!
Her: [Korean word for bye!]

So, that happened yesterday. I think I can handle sleeping on the livingroom floor for one more night before I go completely crazy. I want to sleep on my bed! I do not want a pot collecting water on my bed! Screw you, mystery leak!



old | new