free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-10-19 - Just a few of my favorite things:

Since I've had my rant about the stuff that had been bugging me about Korea, let me turn the tables a bit and talk about the stuff I really like about this country:

1) The food: it is so damn good here, and I like the majority of the dishes served to me. they use a lot of seafood, a lot of fresh vegetables, and a lot of it is spicey, and I LOVE spicey foods. Portions here are generally large, and it's very seldom that I'm still hungry after a Korean meal, because they tend to stuff you, especially if you're a foreigner who says that they love what they're eating.

2) Resaurants: Like I said, I love the food. But Korean restaurants are so freaking cheap, it is often cheaper to eat out that to try and make the exact same dish at home. case in point: tonight I went out for dinner at a Korean restaurant. I ate a huge meal, and I only paid 3000 Won (about $3.00 US). What's more, all the side dishes that you could have are included. My meal tonight was a huge main dish, three side dishes, and a bowl of soup. While I ate, I read the menu, and saw that the most expensive item on it was 4000 won, and the least expensive was 1500 won. Now I'm full and happy, and I didn't even break a 5000 won bill. Huzzah!

3) The language: so I'll never be a Korean language expert, but one thing is certain, it is really easy to read. Remarkably easy. The characters of the alphabet are very simple, and the structure of the spelling is surprisingly straightforward. Within three weeks of living here, I could comfortably read the language. And while I'm not exactly going to read a book and understand it, the skill comes in handy when reading menues, road signs, bus schedules, and the like. Being able to read it also means that I can generally say what I want at a restaurant, without any problems.

4) The people: For the most part, Koreans are very friendly, especially when they learn that you're a Canadian. A few Koreans have come up to me, somewhat agressively, and asked me if I was American. When I say, "No, I'm Canadian," Their faces light up, they often give you the thumbs-up, name a few Canadian cities or landmarks that they know of, and continue on their way. But, in addition to that, for the most part they are kind and understanding in your inability to pronounce something perfectly, or if you make a mistake, culturally, linguistically, or otherwise. What's more, this means that they're often very pleased when you show an interest in learning the language or in learning about Korean history or culture. Hold up your "How to Speak Korean" book, and ask a Korean to read a word or sentence so that you know how to pronounce it, and they look at you like they've won a million dollars. Because Korea is still fairly new in the global economy, when a foreigner shows an interst in Korean language, life, etc., Koreans become very flattered and excited that you are willing to learn.

5) Travelling within the country: stuff is pretty cheap in Korea. I sent a letter to Canada, and it cost me only 8 cents more than if I had sent it domestically within Canada. Seriously. That being said, most things are pretty cheap here too, including food, as long as it can be grown/produced domestically. But if you want to travel around the country and see more of the sights, it is easy to do, too: transportantion is freaking cheap. I went from my city in the southwest to Seoul in the northwest for under 20 000 won (20.00 US), and I only spent that much because I bought a ticket on a DELUXE BUS with seats and leg room that you do not get without buying a first-class ticket on an airplain. Motels are cheap (usually between 25 000 and 30 000 won per night for two people in a room), food is cheap as I said, and Koreans love to help you get around if you're lost. Also, cabs are fucking cheap: I can get completely across town in the city I live in (about the size of Ottawa) for between 6000 and 8000 won, depending on traffic.

6) Proximity: everything is easy to get to. You can take a bus or cab to a mountain. Because the county is so small, and there are so many people, there isn't a lot of free space. So you won't find many parks, but on the plus side, there are a lot of mountains in farming towns, and any city is not too far away. You can take public transit to get virtually anywhere you want, and you can get to the opposite end of the country in about 4 or 5 hours, tops. For a Canadian where you're used to driving for a day and never leaving the province of Ontario, this is big news!

Of course, there are lots of other reasons why I like the country. I could never list all the things I like (or dislike) about anything. I just thought I'd let you know of a few of the reasons why I'm having a hella good time. Sure I miss my friends and family sometimes, and I get a little homesick for wide open spaces in Canada, I'm too busy to be sad for long.



old | new