free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-08-02 - Camping trip summary:

I am writing this from my new laptop - horray! I am still getting used to the slight differences in the keyboard positioning and so forth, but otherwise, everything is awesome.

I got back from camping today, and I had such a good time! We portaged in via a short hike and about a 20 minute canoe ride, and it worked out pretty well, once we got organized. It was cool because our bathroom was a thunder box, which is a hole somebody dug and then built a wooden box over and cut a hole in, with a sort of lid over the whole thing. It wasn't as bad as it sounds - the thing smelled better than some public bathrooms i've been in! Anyway, it was a new experience to poop in the woods, and I am proud i did it!

But of course, body functions are just a small part of the whole trip. We did lots of canoeing and swimming, and hiked one afternoon, too. We made campfires and drank instant coffee and roasted marshmallows and hot dogs. We got really drunk and fell down a lot and stumbled through the forest in the dark to go pee. No one got poison ivy, even tho there was tons of it. We saw beaver dams and lots of wildlife. Chipmunks stole our hot dog buns. We boiled lake water to drink, and made Tang. Some of us got sunburned, and we all got a pretty sweet tan. And lots of bug bites, too. It was so fun and so relaxing - I love camping!

But, it was really nice to come home and have a shower after four days in the bush applying sunscreen and bug repellent ad nauseum. Yay!

I took some pictures, and I will show you them soon. Right now I am going to grab some dinner.



old | new