free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-04-23 - I'm really glad we had this talk:

So I changed the design a little. Whatever.

Saw Sin City the other day. I was not bad. I'm glad I saw it, but I don't think I would pay to see it again. I knew going into it that it was going to be heavily stylized in presentation/dialogue (it is based on a 50s-esque comic, after all). That being said, there were places where it worked really well, and places where it did not work at all. Mostly it wasn't too bad, but there were parts where I laughed when it was inappropriate to do so. The only actor I was 100% impressed with was Elijah Wood; he did a great job and was a really creepy and compelling character, which had to have been difficult considering he didn't even have any dialogue. Anyway, that is enough about that.

Myself, I am feeling kind of restless. My job ends next week, and I haven't got another job lined up yet. That and I am not really sure what I want to be when I grow-up anymore. I'm feeling kind of aimless and wondering why the things that I am the most interested in studying are not marketable, in terms of job skills. On one hand, I am glad that I studied what I did in University, but on the other hand, I have no idea if it is really applicable to the working world. I wish i had thought of this four or five years ago. S-M-R-T.

Sometimes I feel like I should go back to school and study politics; I feel like I want to try and make a difference. But other times I get really frustrated with the political climate in Canada right now. Especially after the Prime Minister's addess. Here's a copy of the letter I wrote to the CBC on the issue, when they were doing their "what do you think" bit on the news (They did not reay my letter on the air):


I don't trust Paul Martin. I don't think many people do at this point. But, I trust Stephen Harper even less.

Martin surprised me by saying that he would pay back any ill-gotten funds. I'll believe it when I see it; but it's a start. Harper's address, however, was more of the same: he said a lot and made many promises, but did not even hint at a plan of action.

If everyone who was dissatisfied with Martin and/or Harper voted NDP, we would have a very interesting country. We would have a leader who finally addressed our concerns and spoke our language.

But of course, I know that the next government turnover probably won't be NDP. That doesn't stop me from being a member, natch.




old | new