free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2004-12-03 - Sorry, I am a dick:

Had the office Christmas lunch thing today, at a nearby restaurant. It was OK. Except that this person brought her baby, which is barely two months old. And everyone basically sat around cooing and making faces and talking in cartoon voices at the child. The child which was not happy to be in a crowded place, being passed around. So it bawled for half of the afternoon, which was Something, let me tell you.

Meanwhile, another woman in attendance was pregnant, so everyone was discussing pregnancy things and so forth.

Honestly. I don't know how to say so without coming across as an asshole, but: I have no interest in children. I have no patience for babies crying in public places for extended periods. There is usual fussiness, and then there is all-out screaming. I go to resaurants to unwind, not listen to babies cry. Nor do I go to restaurants to watch adults make gooey faces for two hours.

So, maybe I am an asshole re: the baby issue. If you wish to pro-create, then good for you. It is a lot of work. It is a selfless act. Fine. Good.

But please, breeders, don't expect that every woman is just falling all over herself to have a damn baby. Babies make me uncomfortable. I do not have a maternal instinct. I do not want to breed. I have never thought about it. Ever.

And really. I thought that this staff lunch would be a time for grown-ups, not a baby fiesta.

If I was a guy, and said I thought babies were weird, or gross, or not cool, everyone would be like: whatever. But if a woman is wierded out by babies, she is apparently evil.

Well I guess I am evil.



old | new