free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2005-01-21 - I am really more excited about Japan than the comp:

Well, I am having fun at my new job and am learning a lot of technical things. Did I tell you about my new job? I am a Systems Support/Scheduling Assistant.

The scheduling part means that I help make the University's upcoming class and exams schedules. The systems part means that I am doing a lot of troubleshooting, formatting, installing, teckie stuff (I know!)

So I am a really fast learner, which is helpful, because I am just kind of thrown into this. Today I formatted and groomed two computers (one of them twice, because it was messed up). I fixed some printer stuff, installed a printer on the network, and all this other stuff. But mostly the cool part is that the tech guy that I am assisting got me all interested in Linux today after I mentioned that I was really dissatisfied with Windows, etc. So I am experimenting with Linux this weekend - I was given a CD-ROM today that basically runs Linux as an OS through your CD-ROM drive, so that you can test it out before installing it and that sort of thing. Neat, eh?

It's funny, because all this time I've been under the impression that you pretty much had to use Windows (as sucky as it is) to get anything done. But I am starting to realize how flexible and diverse Linux is as an OS. And you know what the total best part is? Linux is free. Yes!!!

Okay, enough technical stuff (sorry, if you hate that stuff).

In more way cool news, I am totally almost ready to buy my plane ticket for Japan! We are looking at May, which is rad, because Japan in spring is apparently very purdy. Then I can visit all my pals who are teaching ESL there. Another good thing is that I got my passport picture taken and I didn't even look like a stooge, which is how I typically look in any picture, be it formal or casual. It pretty much evens out the fact that the picture on my health card makes me look like a homeless, drunk person, with a possible drug problem. You think I am exaggerating, but I am not.



old | new