free zines!

home
about
profile
archives
contact
swap stuff
leave a note
sites i like

Other:
diaryland
Photo Log

Elsewhere:
collapsing at ausgang
monroe calandar at ausgang
guns at ausgang
paper boats

bookcrossing

join my Notify List and get email when I update the site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get Firefox!

Click for Kwangju, South Korea Forecast

2004-12-19 - The importance of winter wear:

Last night, walking around in the snow. Fat, wet snowflakes blowing down into my collar, because I forgot my scarf. No hat either, of course.

It wasn't that cold, but the wind made it feel that way. Snowflakes melting on your exposed neck and collarbone is really not erotic at all. It made me feel colder and more exposed than I really was. I held my collar closed, alternating hands periodically so that the free one could be stuffed into a pocket, the other clasped at my throat.

Crossing the bridge, the wind picked up even more. Snow slapped into the side of my face, the one facing the wind, cold wet drops finding the folds of my exposed ear. Snow landing in your ear is a bad feeling. Snow hitting your ear with the force of wind behind it sounds like the smack of a wet tennis ball on pavement.

By the time I made it inside, my black pea coat was crusted with snow, which quickly melted, making perfect little dew-drop beads on the scratchy exterior fabric.

I think snow is beautiful, of course. I just have to be properly dressed to go out in it.



old | new